The Truth Chronicles – Book 1: The Time Machine by Tim Chaffey and Joe Westbrook – Risen Books (2010)


The Truth Chronicles by Tim Chaffey & Joe WestbrookAs I’ve mentioned before, any book I review that’s aimed at young readers gets read to and flitered through my kids. If they like it, it gets a good review. If my kids don’t like it, well, the author isn’t going to like what he reads here. Tim Chaffey and Joe Westbrook have absolutely nothing to worry about! My kids, especially my eldest, thoroughly love this book!

I first met Tim Chaffey at the 2010 Answers For Pastors conference. He’s as as brilliant and genial as he is tall – and he fairly towers above most of us! I’d only recently heard of the The Truth Chronicles at that point and, with a feeling they were right up my eldest kid’s alley, I asked him if I could have a copy to review. He generously provided me with signed copies of all three books in the series. After the conference, my wife and I read them all at once and were delighted with the characters, the story and the message. I was right; this was right up our son’s alley! I couldn’t wait to start reading it to him to get his reaction.

We read The Time Machine, Book 1 of the Truth Chronicle series (from Risen Books), as a chapter book (one chapter each night). Filled with humor, adventure and wonderful illustrations by Melissa “Inkhana” Mathis, this book delivered in all the right spots. Each night, whether the chapter ended in a cliffhanger or not (and there are plenty of those), my son was always asking, “What happens next?” With a wink and a chuckle at his obvious enthusiasm, I assured him he’d find out next time. Which is to say, it reads well as a chapter book. For the record, both my boys love this book.

In case your wondering what the big deal is, this series tells a wonderful science fiction tale of time machines, dinosaurs and hovercraft and uses it to present Biblical truth and Biblical history. The story follows four teens from Silicon Valley Prep, Jax, Izzy, JT and Mickey. Our heroes attempt to go back in time to ancient Egypt to see how the pyramids were built, only to find themselves face to face with dinosaurs! There’s lots of harrowing escapes and a daring rescue as our intrepid teens attempt to get back to their own time in time for the school science fair. Your kids will love it!

Interestingly, this book doesn’t shy away from some very deep real-world issues that today’s Christian teens face. Notably, it introduces the topic of how God could allow suffering and tackles the issue of whether Christian teens should date non-believers. I admire the way the authors stick to their guns (and to the Bible!) on the latter issue. These topics are dealt with further in the next two books in the series.

Bottom line: If you’re looking for a fun-filled adventure that will fuel your kid’s imagination without the evolutionary assumptions of most science fiction, you should pick up The Truth Chronicles: The Time Machine today!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author to review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

-Rev Tony Breeden
From the Bookwyrm’s Lair

About Tony Breeden

Tony Breeden is an author, creation speaker, Gospel preacher, vocalist and artist from West Virginia. He is also the founder of DefendingGenesis.org. Find out about his books at http://TonyBreedenBooks.com.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: The Truth Chronicles – Book 1: The Time Machine by Tim Chaffey and Joe Westbrook – Risen Books (2010) (via The Bookwyrm’s Lair) | DefendingGenesis.org

  2. Pingback: Most Popular Posts of 2010 | DefendingGenesis.org

  3. Pingback: The Truth Chronicles – Book 2: The Contest by Tim Chaffey and Joe Westbrook – Risen Books (2010) « The Bookwyrm's Lair

  4. Pingback: The Truth Chronicles: The Meeting by Tim Chaffey – Risen Books (2013) | The Bookwyrm's Lair

Leave a Reply

