Danny Boy by Laura Whiskens – House of Cats Publishing [UK] (2013) [Short Story]


dannyboy-whiskensI have never reviewed a short story before, but I happily leave a few comments for Laura Whisken’s “Danny Boy.”

This brief tale is told from the point of view of a girl who grows up next door to a boy with Downs Syndrome and her struggle to come to terms with how other people view her best friend. It’s a story that is both heart-warming and heartbreaking. I admit I shed a tear at least once. It’s very well written and well worth the purchase price. I honestly wish everyone I knew would read it, for it shows the promise of what could be if our schools, churches and communities were more inclusive and tolerant of persons with disabilities. As the father of amazing kids with special needs, this story resonates, showing the tragedy of the world many persons with disabilities – especially intellectual disabilities – face in this world, but challenging us to do better. To be better.

The line that stayed with me long after I shut my ereader down was this:

“”Danny… should have been surrounded by lots of friends during his life. But we grew up in a small community, with small minded people. They were kind enough to him, but none took the time to become his friend.”

Again, I cannot recommend “Danny Boy” enough.  Pick up a copy today at http://www.amazon.com/Danny-Boy-Laura-Whiskens-ebook/dp/B00DRJ4K3O.

-Tony Breeden
From the Bookwyrm’s Lair

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About Tony Breeden

Tony Breeden is an author, creation speaker, Gospel preacher, vocalist and artist from West Virginia. He is also the founder of DefendingGenesis.org. Find out about his books at http://TonyBreedenBooks.com.

Leave a Reply

