Fractured by Lambert Nagle – Lambert Nagle (2014)


fractured-nagleFractured by Lambert Nagle is a short story prequel to Revolution Earth. As such, I imagine it adds value and insight to folks who are already fans of Revolution Earth. Unfortunately, I’d never heard of the book until I received this short story for review.

As an introduction to Revolution Earth, Fractured has both strengths and weaknesses. In the category of strengths, the characters are well-written [with the exception I shall note in a moment], the descriptions are detailed enough to help you immerse yourself in the locales and the dialogue is interesting and a has a natural flow to it. Or so I imagine, as I’m a USAmerican and some of the terms were a bit foreign to me. In the category of weaknesses, two stand out. [1] The flow of the plot jumps around a bit, causing me a bit of trouble as to who I was following in any particular scene. I had to read it twice to be sure I actually knew what was going on. [2] The motives of the characters revolve around their objection to the practice of fracking [an unfortunate term if you’re at all a Battlestar Galactica fan]. As an Apppalachian American, I have a passing knowledge of the dangers and benefits of fracking; my personal knowledge notwithstanding, the authors did not provide me with a good reason for the characters’ actions. It’s not enough to say they think fracking is bad; you have to tell the reader WHY the character thinks it’s bad. Without these motivations being made clear, I have a hard time deciding whether the characters’ actions should be considered heroic or criminal.

So as an introduction to the Revolution Earth, Fractured didn’t exactly leave me wanting more. I hope the authors update this short story to make it what it could be: a strong hook to buy the book it precedes.

-Tony Breeden
From the Bookwyrm’s Lair

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About Tony Breeden

Tony Breeden is an author, creation speaker, Gospel preacher, vocalist and artist from West Virginia. He is also the founder of DefendingGenesis.org. Find out about his books at http://TonyBreedenBooks.com.

Leave a Reply

